Tags

, , ,

You guys don’t know me that well yet, so let me just go ahead and tell you, nothing I am doing in planning my wedding has been traditional.  Por ejemplo, I am having a black tie wedding in a warehouse, not a ballroom.  My fiance and his groomsmen are contemplating some unique footwear to (mis)match their tuxes, and I am encouraging it. You’re starting to see I’m sure, but wait, there’s more.

Because of my non-traditional views, my mother and I have not been seeing eye-to-eye on most aspects.  Among other things we have disagreed on is what I am going to wear for a jacket coming from the hotel to the ceremony site on my wedding day.  She envisions a fur capelet or floor length white satin.  I have envisioned a lot of things, fur and white satin are not among them.  I recall one conversation that occurred at the airport this Spring. I had been kind enough to pick mom up, and was waiting with her in the baggage terminal. I told her I thought I wanted to wear a cardigan with my wedding dress.  She said something about having one made, with a fur trim and Italian cashmere and cha-ching, cha-ching.  I said, “No, I am thinking I’ll just pick something up from  J.Crew (Factory! The Horror!)”.  The woman literally wrapped her hands around my neck and (mockingly, no need to call child services here) strangled me in front of dozens of onlookers.  I’m sorry, I’m not sorry. I’m not traditional!

So I’ve been throwing around the cardigan idea for a while, but then I saw a picture of Leandra Medine (The Man Repeller) on her wedding day (pic below) and a lightbulb went off. A moto jacket! I texted my mom. She said “seems a little…motorcylcle gang to me” UGH! I said, “No, Mom, it’s ROCKER CHIC!!” “That too” she replied.  Hmmm.. common ground? Probably not, but I’m definitely exploring the idea further.  What do you guys think? Is a moto jacket “rocker chic”, or motorcycle gang? Can I pull it off? What would YOU wear??

leandrawedding

leatherbride1rockerbride

rusticbride

cardibride

my mother would die and go to heaven with this choice
-my mother would be so happy. Not gonna happen.

I welcome your thoughts, dear readers, and I promise not to strangle you, mockingly or otherwise.

Liz

